Jordan Brown on Karl Malone Award watch list

Jordan Brown on Karl Malone Award watch list

University of Nevada freshman Jordan Brown has been selected as 1 of 20 college basketball players on the Karl Malone Award watch list. The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame gives this award to the top power forward in the country. Brown was also recently named the Mountain West Conference Preseason Freshman of the year.

A double-double machine Brown averaged 22.7 points and 10.5 rebounds his freshman year, 26.7 and 15 rebounds as a sophomore and capped that with 26.3 points and 15.8 points per game in his junior year at Woodcreek High School in Roseville, Calif.  In his only season at Prolific Prep he once again produced a double-double averaging 23.5 points and 13.1 rebounds per game.  Brown averaged 25.3 points, 13.8 rebounds and 2.6 blocks per game per game in his three seasons at Woodcreek HS.

"This is a huge accomplishment for Jordan and would be for any freshman in the country," said Eric Musselman. "The fact that he hasn't played a college basketball game but is already getting accolades speaks major volumes. Jordan is a hard worker and will continue to prove that he belongs amongst the best players in college basketball. We are proud of Jordan and can't wait for Wolf Pack nation and the rest of the country to see what he's all about."

Twenty Candidates Announced for the Basketball Hall of Fame’s

2019 Karl Malone Award

Top Collegiate Power Forwards Named to Watch List for the “Naismith Starting 5”

Springfield, Mass. (Oct. 18, 2018) — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in itsfifth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprising top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“We are privileged to annually present an award bearing the name of Karl Malone, a truly gifted player and an exemplary teammate,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The young men on the watch list for this, and other awards in the Naismith Starting 5, should be extremely proud, and we look forward to watching them compete throughout the upcoming season.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Karl Malone Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Karl Malone Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Yoeli Childs BYU

Zion Williamson Duke

Juwan Morgan Indiana

Dedric Lawson Kansas

Dean Wade Kansas St

Reid Travis Kentucky

P.J. Washington Kentucky

Jordan Murphy Minnesota

Jordan Brown Nevada

Luke Maye North Carolina

Drew McDonald Northern Kentucky

Chris Silva South Carolina

Mike Daum South Dakota State

Grant Williams Tennessee

Devontae Cacok UNCW

Bennie Boatwright USC

Simisola Shittu Vanderbilt

Eric Paschall Villanova

Noah Dickerson Washington

Sagaba Konate West Virginia

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*